

HONOURS AND AWARDS

Ms Robyn J Abernathy was awarded second prize for a student contribution at the 2004 NZIC Inorganic and Organometallic Specialist Group Conference, Portage, New Zealand, in December. Her talk was entitled: Solvent-mediated reactions of ruthenium complexes with poly(pyrazolyl) borates.

Mr Matthew A B Baker, has been awarded the 2004 General Sir John Monash award for excellence The scholarship will allow Matthew to attend Vrije Universiteit in the Netherlands to study biological nanomotors.

Professor Martin G Banwell

- was awarded the 2003 Royal Society of Chemistry, Industrially Sponsored Award for Synthetic Organic Chemistry. This award was made for Martin's "elegant use of chemoenzymatic methods for the preparation of a wide variety of complex natural products including alkaloids and sesquiterpenes, as well as versatile strategies for the synthesis of troponoids and the lamellarins";
- was awarded the Novartis Chemistry Lectureship for 2004-2005:
- was the 2004 Boehringer-Ingleheim Lecturer of the Ohio State University;
- was the 2004 Nanjing University of Science and Technology International Exchange and Co-operation Lecturer;
- awarded the 2004 Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI) Birch Medal — this is the premier medal awarded for organic chemistry by the RACI;
- was elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Athelstan L J Beckwith was honoured with the award of Officer of the Order of Australia in the Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Ms Lorraine M Caldwell was awarded a National Institute of Physical Sciences Travel Assistance Grant for her poster presentation entitled: Cytotoxic iron chelators: iron complexes of di-2-pyridyl keton isonicotonyl hydrazone (HPKIH) analogues, at the

International Conference on Coordination Chemistry (ICCC 36), Mérida, Yucatán, México, in July.

She was also awarded a National Institute of Physical Sciences Travel Assistance Grant for her poster presentation entitled: *Group 6 selenoaroyl complexes: isoselenocyanates as single atom selenium transfer reagents*, at the International Conference on Organometallic Chemistry (ICOMC 21), Vancouver, Canada, in July.

Mr David M Carberry was awarded 3rd prize plus a certificate and \$500 off his next National Instrument purchase in the 2004 Oceania Customer Solution Competition for his design of a customer solution article detailing a problem and how it could be solved using one or more NI products. The competition was organised by National Instruments and was open to anyone using any NI product.

Professor Michael A Collins was awarded the Physical Chemistry Division Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

Mr Ryan E Dawson was awarded best poster prize at the 20th Royal Australian Chemical Institute Conference and the 29th International Symposium on Macrocyclic Chemistry, Cairns, in July. The poster title was: Stilbene and cyclodextrins as the basis of molecular shuttles.

Mr Rian D Dewhurst presented the talk: Simple convergent routes to Heterobimetallic C_3 complexes, at the International Conference on Organometallic Chemistry (ICOMC 21), Vancouver, Canada, in July, for which he was awarded a National Institute of Physical Sciences Travel Assistance Grant.

Professor Christopher J Easton

- was elected as a Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation;
- was elected as Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Denis J Evans was awarded the 2004 Moyal Medal from Macquarie University "for distinguished contributions to research in mathematics, physics and statistics".

Mr Gwion Harfoot was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Postdoctoral Research Fellowship to study in Germany.

Ms Elizabeth H Krenske was selected to present a student lecture at the Southern Highlands Conference on Heterocyclic Chemistry, 7-9 September 2003. The lecture was entitled *Alkyne Exchange in Phosphirenium Salts*.

She also won the prize for the best student lecture at the Second Australia and New Zealand Symposium on Organometallic Chemistry at the University of Adelaide, 11-14 January, entitled *Phosphinestabilised Arsenium Salts as Precursors for the Asymmetric Synthesis of Tertiary Arsines*.

Mr Lawrence C H Kwan was the co-recipient of the award for the best student lecture entitled *Towards an efficient construction of steroids using a domino IMDA reaction*, presented to the Royal Australian Chemical Institute NSW Organic Group 25th Annual One-day Symposium, University of New South Wales in December.

Mr David W Lupton was the co-recipient of the award for the best student lecture entitled *A total synthesis of the alkaloid aspidospermidine*, presented to the Royal Australian Chemical Institute NSW Organic Group 25th Annual One-day Symposium, University of New South Wales in December.

Professor Lewis N Mander — A One-day Synthesis Symposium in honour of Professor Mander was held at the Shine Dome on 8 September, on the occasion of his 65th birthday. The symposium featured ten presentations from his colleagues and former students. The program concluded with the presentation of the 2004 Birch Lecture by Professor Robert Grubbs, and a dinner honouring both Professors Mander and Grubbs followed. During the dinner, glassblower Chris Tomkins presented Professor Mander with a model of Gibberellin A3. Chris made this model while Ray Filardo constructed the perspex casing and lan Clarke the timber base.

Ms Natalie A Miller won a prize for best student poster at the Royal Australian Chemical Institute NSW Organic Chemistry Group 25th Annual Oneday Symposium, University of New South Wales, in November, and also the best poster prize at the IUPAC ICOS-15, 15th International Conference on Organic Synthesis, Nagoya, Japan, in August. The poster title was: *Synthesis and reactions of substituted dendralenes*.

Dr Hideki Onagi

- was awarded the Dean's Prize 2004 for the best PhD thesis, entitled Cyclodextrins as Building Blocks for Supramolecular Chemistry;
- was awarded the JG Crawford Prize of the ANU.

Ms Lisa A Sharp won a prize for best student presentation at the 20th Royal Australian Chemical Institute Conference and the 29th International Symposium on Macrocyclic Chemistry, Cairns, July, for her talk entitled: *The intramolecular radical carboxyarylation reaction: scope and application to natural product synthesis.*

Ms Christine Sharrad was awarded the 2004 Dean's Prize for General Staff Excellence for her outstanding work on the School's contribution to the ANU Quality Review.

Mr Andrew J Scott won a prize for best student poster at the 20th Royal Australian Chemical Institute Conference and the 29th International Symposium on Macrocyclic Chemistry, Cairns, July.

Mr Never Tshabang was highly commended for his student contribution at the 2004 NZIC Inorganic and Organometallic Specialist Group Conference, Portage, New Zealand, in December. His talk was entitled: Heterobimetallic complexes of poly(methimazolyl)borate ligands.

Mr Peter Wu was invited to give an oral presentation of his poster, entitled: *Measurement and* Φ *angle dependence of CSA/DD cross-correlation effects between H^a and H^N*, at the **ANZMAG 2004**, Barossa Valley, South Australia, in February